Dog Rescuers Should Make “The Drop”

Is there a dog in this picture?

I don’t pretend to be a movie critic; I’m a chained-dog rescuer, a warrior for the rights of chained dogs, and often solely a paper pusher trying to keep a nonprofit animal rights organization afloat on any given day.

Not really a glamorous life.

But one of my guilty pleasures is movies, where you can lose yourself for two hours in anyone’s life—whether that life be better or worse than your own.You don’t have to be invested in their problems, and their challenges often seem way more interesting and solvable than your own.

I’m also not a connoisseur of fancy movies (you know, the ones with subtitles), although I’ve been known to go out of my way for a few that interest me but can’t fight their way into the big boys lineups. I enjoy all movies except for scary movies (why deliberately make yourself miserable?), and there’s almost always something to be learned, even if it’s “I should have listened to the critics on this one and stayed home.”

Sometimes getting a laugh or two is the best I can hope for and I’m ok with that.

It’s rare that a mainstream movie features a dog rescue as a prominent part of the plot, and I had no idea going into “The Drop,” starring Tom Hardy, that I would be subjected to worrying about the fate of a dog throughout the whole movie—bringing my ‘real job’ a little too close to my movie-escape experience.

I first noticed Tom Hardy as one of the yummilicious guys vying for Reese Witherspoon’s affection in 2012’s “This Means War”, and I was Team Tom all the way. Still think he rocks. Unfortunately, he doesn’t get the girl in the end, but his scenes at the paintball zone slayed me and would have won my heart if I had been the one to choose. While the critics only gave this one a 26% review, I loved the hell out of it and am not ashamed to say I went back for a second helping and even bought it on DVD.

In “The Drop”, Tom’s character Bob is walking down a New York street at night only to hear a puppy whining.

Uh-oh, I think. I didn’t sign up for this.

He ends up finding a beat up pitbull puppy in the garbage can, rescues him with the help of the girl who lives there, and leaves me on pins and needles the rest of the movie worrying about the dog.

Will he get killed? Will the bad guy get him after all?

While the dog rescue plays a prominent role in the story, it is a subplot to the real action; but, still large enough to make me want to recommend the movie to those in dog rescue or who support dogs rescue organizations such as ours at Dogs Deserve Better.

Joe and I also got a kick out of seeing in the credits that the movie is actually based on a short story written by Dennis Lehane, called “Animal Rescue.”

While I hate to have to do a ‘spoiler alert’, if you’re like me you would NOT want to see “The Drop” if you felt that the dog dies in the movie. Rest assured that I wouldn’t recommend the movie to you if I had walked away broken-hearted over the dog. ‘Nuf said.

What I was happy to see was that the dog was rescued (by an unlikely advocate), the dog was protected, and the dog was valued.

Movies that promote protection of animals probably do as much for our cause as anything else, because they reach folks who might not give a second thought to passing by an injured animal. Maybe it will inspire others to stop and take action, too.

For that I give the movie AND Tom Hardy—cause he’s just too cute not to—full props and kudos.

P.S. By the way, in my opinion, the movie was just GOOD anyway. And well worth seeing. Here’s a couple links to real critic reviews, for those who are interested.

http://www.csmonitor.com/The-Culture/Movies/2014/0911/The-Drop-belongs-to-Tom-Hardy-who-gives-an-astonishing-performance

http://variety.com/2014/film/reviews/toronto-film-review-the-drop-1201299293/

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/09/10/tom-hardy-dog_n_5799144.html

P.S.S. Did you know our Facebook page has over half a million supporters now? If you’re not already a fan, join us today! http://www.facebook.com/dogsdeservebetter.

Or follow us on twitter at http://www.twitter.com/dogsdeserve.

Leave a Reply

